New level of Girl Scouting

So they are changing the levels of Scouts where I am.

Daisies will now be Kindergarten and First Grade.

Brownies will be Second and Third Grades.

Juniors will be Fourth and Fifth Grades.

Cadettes will be Sixth and Seventh Grades.

Seniors will be Eight and Ninth Grades.

Ambassadors will be Tenth and Eleventh Grades.

Of course we have Studio 2B for girls aged 11-17.

I wonder why they changed Daisy Scouts to a 2 year program. They really accomplish all their tasks and then some in one year. Perhaps I’ll bridge my Daisies early. It won’t hurt them to have three years in Brownies like my other Scout Troops have.

Wonder what others think of the new age level, the additional training, additional vests/sashes, additional handbooks and guidebooks needed to be purchased.

I liked the old way where we had three years for the Brownies and Juniors. I enjoyed having time to earn the Bronze award, and I’d looked forward to the time to earn the Silver and Gold awards. Now when my Juniors bridge to Cadets, they will already be in 7th grade, and with the new age levels, that means they will only be cadets for one year. 😦

Perhaps they need to bridge early as well…

My Service Unit Manager is going to love me 🙂

Kell

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandi
    Oct 18, 2007 @ 12:27:39

    Not sure if our Council has made those changes like yours, but I agree with you. Why 2 years of Daisy’s? Why do they always need to make changes? Sometimes I think they do to much tweeking with the program.

    Reply

  2. kellskorner
    Oct 18, 2007 @ 13:36:59

    Thanks for agreeing with me 🙂
    I’m hoping we can still bridge early like we could in the past. All I know is that even dragging out the Daisy meetings, they WANT to do the fun things the Brownies can. Daisies can’t take overnight trips, aren’t allowed on trips unless they are council. (as far as I’m aware) and they do not raise money so all funds come out of pocket.
    I know my Daisies are counting down to becoming a Brownie, but then two of them have sisters who are already Brownies 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

