Our Halloween Party

So we had our Halloween party. I purchased break and bake cookies, sugar and chocolate chip, then we decorated the sugar cookies, and we also made brownies. We allowed each child to have x amount of cookies and packaged the rest to send to our soldier overseas.

We also used paper plates to make spiders. We were going to do the treat keepers as well, but ran out of time, so we used tongue depressers donated by a doctor’s office and paperplates to make masks.

Some of our paper plate spiders looked more like round aliens with antennae’s and arms and legs, but it was fun anyway!

Since we combined all three of my troops, I kept them together for the crafts, and paired the Juniors with the Daisies for baking. So Brownies went to bake, came back and then Juniors went to bake.

Surprising was the fact that more than half the children elected to display their spiders in our room as opposed to taking them home. I love Crayola. I really love their holiday bingo, we just didn’t have enough time, but NONE of the kids complained. So it was a blast 🙂

A few parents asked how we kept everything so organized and clean. I just looked at her and she said the last time she saw a group of 20 kids in the kitchen they made a huge mess. I carefully explained that we sent them to the kitchen in shifts. I’m nothing if not organized, the parent volunteer and three other leaders all knew what I wanted and expected and there was not one incident until the end of the night and it was switfly dealt with as it was a behavior issue, nothing else. I guess if you set the right tone, the children automatically follow. I’m a drill sargeant. They know that if I spend time yelling and cleaning there is less activity and fun time. We’ve been down that road 🙂

Happy Halloween! Happy Samhain!

Kell

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cassandra
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 22:12:23

    What an awesome idea! Organizing in shifts. I’m glad the kids had fun. *huge grin*

    Reply

  2. kellskorner
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 22:49:43

    thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

