Investiture and Rededication Ceremonies

I took the following section from Girl Scouts.

Ceremonies mark special Girl Scout events throughout the year. They can celebrate major transitions, such as bridging to another level or getting your Girl Scout pin, commemorate your accomplishment when you earn awards, or simply make the beginning or end of your group’s meeting special. You can also plan a ceremony around a theme, such as friendship or nature, that you wish to explore in thought, words, or song. Whatever its purpose, every Girl Scout ceremony enables girls to share in a special part of Girl Scout history and create their own special memories.

Investiture welcomes new members, girls or adults, into the Girl Scout family for the first time. Girls receive their Girl Scout, Brownie Girl Scout, or Daisy Girl Scout pin at this time.

Rededication Ceremonies are an opportunity for girls and adults to renew their commitment to the Girl Scout Promise and Law.

So last night my Brownie Troop began planning their investiture and rededication. We actually have a few girls new to my troop and a few new to Scouting period. It was a fun informative time.

While waiting for the troop to arrive the girls made decorative snowflakes to send overseas to the soldiers we are supporting. Then we listened to the Brownie Story from the handbook. Even though we read it every year, the girls all enjoyed the story and my co-leader brought them into it by having them recite the verse along with the story. “Twist me and turn me and show me the elf. I looked in the water and saw ___.” MYSELF they scream (the ones who already know the answer, that is 😉

And then we discussed color guard, the Pledge of Allegiance, Girl Scout Promise and the Girl Scout Law. At the mention of color guard several hands went up requesting to do the colorguard, but I think this year  I’d like to have my Junior troop do the colorguard for the ceremony. They need some interaction with the younger group since some of the girls will be flying up to Juniors. 🙂

The girls voted and will all bring food to the ceremony. So we did up a food list which I will hand out at the next meeting so parents can see what they were volunteered for and change it if they want. Then we discussed songs. They weren’t pleased to hear they will be singing When e’er you Make A  Promise as they have a hard time remembering those words, but were happy enough with the Brownie Smile Song and Make New Friends. They will also perform Bazooka Bubblegum – which beat out Pink Pajamas, Yogi Bear, and Pizza Hut.

We will conclude with a friendship circle and Taps, and do the spin and step out.

During the ceremony we will pull out our ‘pond’ a decorative mirror donated to our troop from another and we’ve passed it down everytime our girls went to another level. The new Brownies leave the room while we explain that in order for them to become a Brownie they must Twist and Turn and look in the pond to find the elf. They will all knock on the door.

The Rededicating Brownies will say “Who is it?”

Investing Brownies “We’re girls who wish to become Girl Scouts.”

Rededicating Brownies “Come on in.”

The Investing Brownies stay in a line. One at a time, the Rededicating Brownies spin the Investing Brownie, then face her toward the pond while the Investing Brownie says “Twist me and turn me and show me the elf. I look in the water and see MYSELF.”

Once the new girls have finished Investing, the Rededicating Brownies will each recite a portion of the Girl Scout Law. We’ll intersperse the songs in and also have a short welcoming speech at the beginning.

Now to work on Investing my Daisies and Investing and Rededicating my Juniors. (and bridging them to Cadets.)

Happy Scouting!

Kell

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cass
    Nov 16, 2007 @ 17:04:23

    I wish I could have been a girl scout! I remember only going to one of the meetings as a kiddo. What a beautiful ceremony. *huge grin*

    Reply

  2. kellskorner
    Nov 20, 2007 @ 15:26:24

    I was a Girl Scout as a child and I never went to a ceremony.

    oh well, I have plenty now that I’m a leader 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

