OYA – Turkish Lace

Okay while at the blog where I discovered that Yoyo advent calendar, I fell in love with Oya.

http://sunshinescreations.vintagethreads.com/2007/11/oya.html

http://sunshinescreations.vintagethreads.com/2007/11/more-oya.html

So I summoned my friend Cassandra Morris and asked her to tell me more about this. Now she had actually done some in the past, but she crocheted it instead of used needles, so she did the form called orgu. With needle it is called oya or oyasi.

Now, some more information:

Needlework Through History

Pictures of Turkish Lace

Close up picture of some Oya

Allie’s in Stiches has some fabulous pictures and mentions how important it is to support the women making these in Turkish villages.

List of videos gathered by Sunshines Creations

Videos a friend gave me:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPpuMHz5C7A

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZBmtfyqz61U&feature=related

A beautiful article mentioning a name I read on Allie’s blog 🙂

I’m off to make more yoyo’s and contemplate a crocheted purse made with CD’s.

Kell

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sof frankenstein
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 13:18:22

    thank you for all these very interesting links !

    Reply

  2. kellskorner
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 14:18:21

    You’re welcome. I cannot wait for xmas to be over so that I can get started on trying to make my own.

    Reply

  3. Ann in Paris
    Jan 11, 2009 @ 04:00:19

    I am very interested in trying both the Turkish crochet and needlelace techniques but I have no idea what type(s) / thickeness of threads are used. I would appreciate some suggestions, thanks.

    Reply

  4. kellskorner
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 10:34:22

    Thanks for your interest in this fascinating craft.
    I have a friend who will be traveling to Turkey very soon and I hope that she gets a chance to learn from some natives while she is there. I would suggest you check out these links, as I am not an expert in Turkish Crochet. I find this site very helpful and beautiful. I love to look at the wonderful creations.

    http://www.turkishcrochet.com/

    Reply

    • yeliz
      Sep 23, 2009 @ 07:25:41

      Dear friends,
      I am a turkish woman. I am interested in Turkishlace. I am trying to learn it todays. I am living in Turkey and tomorrow I will go to a village in middle east anatolia of Turkey to buy some neclace which is made of Turkishlace. If you want, I can send the photos of some examples and teach you the techniques of how to make a Turkish lace:)))

      Reply

  5. Rita Ainley
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 09:51:20

    Hi I have been crocheting for over 30 years and just found Turkish crochet and would love to learn how to do the needle work (oya) do you happen to know where I can get info on this awesome handwork
    Thank you Rita

    Reply

    • kellskorner
      Apr 13, 2010 @ 09:17:05

      If the links above were not able to give you proper guidance I apologize. I was unable to learn more about this myself, though I really wish I could learn how to do it. If anyone had pictures of projects they’ve done using this I would love to see them!

      ~Kell

      Reply

  6. yeliz
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 07:06:05

    Hi again,
    If you visit http://www.naletik.com, you can see different kinds of oyas :))
    There are some videos about how to do a turkish lace, but the videos are turkish. To do a turkish lace is very difficult and it is almost impossible to learn it from books or videos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

