Macrame

My mother knew how to do this, as did my grandmother. Both have been dead for many years and so if I want to learn macrame, I’ll have to figure it out myself. I saw owl macrame swaps yesterday and it made me decide to compose a post for the blog.

From wikipedia:

Macramé or macrame is a form of textile-making using knotting rather than weaving or knitting. Its primary knots are the square knot and forms of hitching (full hitch and double half hitches). It has been used by sailors, especially in elaborate or ornamental knotting forms to decorate anything from knife handles to bottles to parts of ships.

Common materials used in macrame include cotton twine, hemp, leather or yarn. An essential feature of the threads used is a level of “give”. Jewelry is often made in combination of both the knots and various beads (glass, wooden, etc.), pendants or shells.

My oldest daughter would be the first to say “Mom! Don’t go to wikipedia!!!! They have trained her at school not to listen to the site. While I don’t know if sailors did macrame, I do know that it involves knotting and sometimes beads 🙂

Wikihow has a post showing the basics of macrame.

Here is an interesting site that offers some how to’s on the site.

more patterns

free patterns

FOR KIDS!!

Bracelet from Family Fun

I can see this project will be a lot of fun :

Kell

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Savraj
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 01:30:56

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

